APPENDIX: IMBUED RULES

1. IMBUED

Imbued are new crypt cards. An imbued
is considered a mortal ally, not a vampire.
Imbued have 1 strength and 1 bleed, by
default. Their cost is also their starting
life, and it is specified on each card
individually (like capacity). They have
creeds (like clans). They have virtues (like
Disciplines, but only one level).
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If Erick successfully enters combat with
a monster as an action, he may gain a
conviction from your hand or ash

heap (before combat begins).

When they have 0 life, they are
incapacitated (like torpor) instead of
being burned (see 5 below). Any "burn
ally" effect will still burn an imbued,
however.

2. CONVICTION

Conviction is a new card type. It is played
in the unlock phase, so it is an "unlock"
card, not a master or minion ot discard
(event) card. During your unlock phase,
you may play 1 conviction on each of
your imbued. You may play these
conviction cards from your hand or from
your ash heap.

An imbued may burn only
one Second Sight for the
following effects each action.
Burn when a monster is acting to
give this imbued +1 intercept for
that action.

Burn when this imbued declares
an action to give monsters —|
intercept for this action.

When an imbued enters play with no
conviction, they may gain 1 conviction
from your library, hand or ash heap.

In addition to their own effects,
conviction cards may be spent (burned)
to pay the conviction costs which some
cards require.

Each imbued has a limit of 5 conviction.
Any conviction gained above five is
burned instead.

3. POWER

Power is a new minion card type, only
playable by imbued. An imbued may get a
power as a +1 stealth action, like
equipment or retainers.

The imbued unlocks if the action is
successful. An imbued may not have two
copies of the same power. Some effects
or powers are "always on". Others have a
card type icon (action, combat, etc.)
indicating when and how the effect can

be used.

To use one of those effects, you must
lock the power card (and pay whatever
cost the effect requires). Standard rules
for using such effects apply (e.g., a
reacting minion must be ready and
unlocked). "Always on" effects are still on
while the power card is locked.
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During your untap phase, if
this imbued has fewer life
than his or her starting
amount, he or she gains | life.
@ > +1 stealth action. Add
| blood to a vampire or | life
to any other ally, hot to
exceed starting life.




4. TERMS AND ICONS

Imbued: a new minion type which
counts as a mortal ally.

Monster: any vampire or non-mortal
non-animal ally or retainer.

o

Creeds Virtues

T Avenger @Vengeance

—@- Defender Defense
@ Innocent Innocence

@) Redeemer Redemption
C@ Visionary (&) Vision

5. INCAPACITATED

When an imbued has no life, they are
placed in the incapacitated region
(controlled but not ready).

Effects which are not usable by an ally
being burned are not usable by an
imbued being incapacitated.

Any minion may burn an incapacitated
imbued and take their equipment as a (D)
action. If that action is successful, then
each ready imbued may burn 1 conviction
to inflict 1 unpreventable damage on that
acting minion.

An imbued may leave the incapacitated
region and gain a life (not to exceed their
starting life) by burning 3 conviction
during their unlock phase.

Note that an imbued gains a life (not to
exceed their starting life) if they leave the

incapacitated region by any other effect,
as well.

CARD RULINGS

In earlier sets, card effects that deal with
crypt cards have generally assumed that
crypt cards were all vampires. Now that
this is no longer true, some questions
arise.

In general, if you (the Methuselah playing
the card or activating the effect) can look
at the crypt card (e.g., because it is in your
uncontrolled region or in any ash heap or
in play, or if you're "searching" your
crypt), then the target crypt card must
match the parameters given by the effect.
This usually means that imbued cannot
be targets of these effects.

If you target a crypt card "blind" (either
an unseen card from the crypt or an
unseen card in some other Methuselah's
uncontrolled region), then work with
whatever you find.

If the effect only checks/compares the
card's "capacity", then treat the imbued's
cost (starting life) as its capacity for that
comparision.

Those two guidelines should clear up all
the ways of interacting with imbued who
aren't in play. But for clarity, individual
cases are shown below.

The following effects are imbued-
compatible:

Bear-Baiting (checking cost as

capacity from crypt OK).

e Brainwash (targeting unknown
uncontrolled card OK).

e Cairo Int'l Airport (targeting
unknown uncontrolled card OK).

e Clotho's Gift at [obf] (moving card
from crypt OK).

o Effective Management (moving

card from crypt OK).



Gemini (targeting unknown
uncontrolled card OK).

Gisela Harden (targeting unknown
uncontrolled card OK).

Goodnight, Sweet Prince (moving
card from crypt OK).

Innocent Bystander (removing card
from crypt OK).

Kindred Intelligence (moving card
trom crypt OK).

Lazar Dobrescu (targeting unknown
uncontrolled card OK, but the
recipient must be a vampire).
Memory's Fading Glimpse
(moving unknown uncontrolled card
OK).

Petra's Resonance (checking cost as
capacity from crypt OK).

The Portrait (checking cost as
capacity from crypt OK).

San Lorenzo de El Escorial
(targeting unknown uncontrolled card
OK).

The Soul Gem of Etrius (can
retrieve an imbued, and will even put
them in play if they are "younger"

than the bearer, but they get no blood
or life).

e The Trick of the Danya (targeting
unknown uncontrolled card OK, but
the recipient must be a vampire).

The following effects are not imbued-
compatible:

¢ Chain of Command (cannot put
imbued into play)

e Clotho's Gift at [tem] (cannot target
imbued in uncontrolled region)

¢ Dreams of the Sphinx (cannot
move blood to imbued in
uncontrolled region)

e Illusions of the Kindred (if the
bottom card is an imbued, no new
combat begins and the imbued is
removed from play)

e Might of the Camarilla (won't force
a Methuselah to burn an uncontrolled
imbued)

e Recruitment (search as indicated:
vampire)




